Basic Standard >> National identity elements of India

Click the green "Start" button for MCQ.


National identity elements of India.


           National Flag of India

     The national flag of India is also called a tricolour , because it is divided into three equally proportioned horizontal stripes. Each color represents a distinct virtue. 

    The deep saffron (kesaria) at the top, represents the strength and courage of the country. The dark green at the bottom represents the fertility, growth, and auspiciousness of the land. 

     The white band in the middle represents peace and truth with Chakra. There is a navy-blue wheel with 24 spokes, placed at the center of the white band. The diameter of the wheel is almost as wide as the white band.

     Similar to the wheel appearing in the abacus of the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka, this wheel represents the chakra. The design of the National Flag was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on 22 July 1947. 

National emblem: The State emblem is adapted from the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka. The original emblem depicts four lions standing back to back and mounted on an abacus. The abacus contains a  frieze carrying sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus. The Capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra) and carved out of a single block of polished sandstone.

       The adapted state emblem has three visible lions and one hidden lion. The wheel appears in relief in the center of the abacus with a bull on right and a horse on the left and the outlines of other wheels on the extreme right and left. The bell-shaped lotus from the original emblem is absent here. The Sanskrit phrase "Satyameva Jayate" from Mundaka Upanishad is inscribed below the abacus in Devanagari script. This means 'Truth Alone Triumphs'.

This emblem was adopted by the Government of India on 26 January 1950.


The National Anthem –National anthem “Jana Gana Mana” is written and composed by Nobel laureate poet

late Rabindranath Tagore. Only the first stanza from a longer poem of the same name is played as the national anthem.

Jana-gana-mana-adhinayaka jaya he
Tava shubha name jage, tava shubha asisa mage,
gahe tava jaya-gatha.
Jana-gana-mangala-dayaka jaya he
Jaya he, Jaya he, Jaya he,
jaya jaya jaya, jaya he.

National animal of India: Royal Bengal tiger.

National Bird of Indian: Peacock.

National flower of India: Lotus

National  heritage animal: Indian elephant

National  fruit: Mango

National tree: Indian Banyan tree


Hand drawn


Forgot your password?


Error message here!


Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Back to log-in